Personal Opinions/advice Please.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChisusChrist

Reaction score
Hello,

Just looking for peoples advice and/or opinion about my situation. I'm not an electrician but am very interested in it. So here is the score, I'm 24 and currently a security engineer. As I couldn't get an apprecticeship when I left school, I thought i would just go into higher and further education, stopping only when i got a career/job. I still think about trying to go for an electrical apprenticeship/trainee position, but as i recall from the past, the employers made it seem like they were after people fresh from school.

I work about 40-60 hours a week and on a salary, have to do on-call for a week straight and if I get called out during the week, I don't get paid for it. The pain about the on-call is that if I do a ten hour day and get home and get called out again, it can easily be a twenty hour day. Why am I working so many hours and still struggling to pay bills? that is what I'm starting to ask myself.

Here is a few things I have:

HND in Electrical/Electronic Engineering.

Gate safe.

CSCS card.

All of which I paid for myself.

Would it be worth my time to try and get into electrical again or would would i get turned away for being too old? What would I need qualification wise? Also, what experience would I need? I'm always trying to book courses and training days in my spare time so wouldn't mind looking a few up and booking days off for them.

Would really appreciate some feedback. Thanks for taking the time to read this.

The problem you have here is time. Whilst you may get an offer of some free assist work you will not get anything permanent. If you were to ditch current job and start at the bottom then you'll be on substantially less money than you are now.