three phase welder? help please

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

musicspark

Reaction score
Hi chaps

I was asked to do some PA testing in a local garage today and have com away

with a few questions.

there was a bench drill on a stand, when I opened the plug there was no Neutral connected (three core and earth). would an appliance this small normally have a delta motor?

Secondly there was an old ARC welder with a Three Phase plug which was wired with two core and earth L, N ,and E. I am new to the trade and have not come across this before. Help?????

The last question is of a more basic nature; single phase mig welder needs a new flex. What kind of cable would be good for that appliance, in that environment -heat, oil, etc?

The drill does not require a Neutral, as it is obviously 3 phase.

3 phase motors generally use less current to do the same as a single phase motor.

I don't know what you mean by a delta motor?

i would imagine that the 3 phase plug was used either because the socket was existing.

It could be that an old welder was 3 phase, and they couldn't be asked to provide a new circuit. It could be that they didn't want to lose the 3 phase socket, could be used for other equipment, or they might in future obtaian a 3 phase welder.

Could use an Artic cable, or perhaps SY? I would consider how cold the workshop could be during the winter, and choose a suitable cable.

Hi chapsI was asked to do some PA testing in a local garage today and have com away

with a few questions.

there was a bench drill on a stand, when I opened the plug there was no Neutral connected (three core and earth). would an appliance this small normally have a delta motor? More likely to be "star" connected with no neutral- no probs