Advice needed

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John Palmer01

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a general builder that is taking on a complete renovation on a property for my good lady and myself.
I am not an electrician but like to have an understanding of works that I request others to carry out for me.
I will have an outside light fitted on the driveway which I would like to be constantly on until 10pm. After that I would like it to be on pir.
I was wondering if it was permitted for a permanent supply and a timed supply to be run to the same light?
I also have a similar question for the internal lighting.
I have a hallway that will require pir sensors fitted at each end.
Is it permitted to have the 2 x sensors running to the same light?

I would appreciate any advice given.
Thanks.

Nothing difficult about your ideas, BUT, presumably you don't want the outside lights on until dark, so do you want a photocell, or perhaps a timer? Do you want to be able to override the controls with a manual switch, either on or off? These are things you need to consider and specify carefully to your electrician to avoid difficult afterthoughts.
In the hallway, there's no problem with two sensors, but similarly, do you want it always automatic?

Nothing difficult about your ideas, BUT, presumably you don't want the outside lights on until dark, so do you want a photocell, or perhaps a timer? Do you want to be able to override the controls with a manual switch, either on or off? These are things you need to consider and specify carefully to your electrician to avoid difficult afterthoughts.
In the hallway, there's no problem with two sensors, but similarly, do you want it always automatic?
Hi Geoff,
Thanks for the reply.