Battery only storage - Worth it?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Creakyride

Reaction score
After a big disappointment with a solar installation and still chasing my money back off the credit card company, I am wondering if having only a home battery storage make more sense.

A new company taking some selective job from the company that has gone under, is offering to do the solar installation for the same price I had agreed with the previous company. After going through the specs, I am not convinced that the intended supply of a Sun Synk inverter would perform that well for my 2 string setup. The company want to instal 4 of the 10 panels on a North East 40° slope roof. The problem I see with this is that the hybrid 3.6KW inverter has a start up voltage of 150V. I am no electrician but I don't think that it would work well.

So I am thinking to go for the battery only route... Is this a wise decision?

Currently the house needs around 10-13KW of electricity and I have just came in possession of a new EV with a possible need of around 40KW weekly.

Keen to hear any suggestions.

What would you do?

So I am thinking to go for the battery only route... Is this a wise decision?

Keen to hear any suggestions.

What would you do?