Becoming a limited Company

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mcgaw81

Reaction score
As the title says, I am looking at becoming a Limited Company (as per advice form my accountant)

Had a quick chat with him, but haven't spent much time on it with him.

What are the main benefits? I will be sitting down with him in a month or so, but want to keep his costs to a minimum, so was looking for any advice etc.

Also I have to change my trading name, JLM Electrical, as I am a sole trader just now the name means nothing, but it has already been registered with company house.

So I have to think what I am going to call myself.

All the alternatives are taken also.

You will have limited liability so if your company runs up huge debts, you are not personally responsible for them. This gives you a "layer" of protection so crazy things like loosing your house can't happen (well not easly).

There was a good page (iirc) on hmrc's site about the differences of each type of company and the benefits/drawbacks. A quick google search should find you some info.

Why not go for JLM Electric Ltd.?

I have just set up another LTD company and the name was the hardest part.

My accountant set it all up for me as I was far too busy to do any of it.

My last Ltd company was basicaly only for electrical work, but with the credit crunch I have expanded into general building as well, If you cant beat them join them.

(I have already had some nasty phone calls from one builder).

You will have to scroll through the listed names and find one that serves you best.

Legally the Ltd company is a seperate entity, you are not liable for the companies debts, however you are more closely srutinised and some suppliers will not offer accounts to newly formed companies unless a full credit check is carried out.