Combining Power Souces

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike Whiskey

Reaction score
I have a 100kw solar system being fitted to power a pump through the summer but will be idle 9 months of the year so would like it to power the house during that time, problem being it is 800meters(415v) away so the cost of cable limits the amount power to 20-25kw to be viable.
Is there any way this could be backed up from the the houses own supply other than having separate circuits.

Thanks Mike.

I'm not an electrician or installer.. but thoughts are:
Firstly that's one hell of a home generation. What kind of pump is that for?
What is your actual estimated output in those other 9 months of the year. Have the estimations been calculated?

1) If you have a higher DC voltage outage. you will reduce voltage drop and therefore the necesery cable SA will reduce. locating the inverter in a positon that would suit both uses. .
2) Would Multiple cables be more economical?
3) What is your home's power consumption. How much power do you actually use?

Last edited:
70kw irrigation pump. On second thoughts it would probably be cheaper to buy a second system for the farm rather than buy a big enough cable.

70kw irrigation pump. On second thoughts it would probably be cheaper to buy a second system for the farm rather than buy a big enough cable.
The question would be to enough to carry what? How much do you actually need at the house. Running at 600v and 30amp 18kw you can run through 35mm cable. 2 core swa 8.50/m about 5.3% loss on 32mm/awg2 cable. So I believe that's within max loss. At 1600 Should be less than a whole system if you can get arrays arranged to output 600v.