Invoicing.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DeeJay

Reaction score
Hi, this has probably been asked a million times before, but i searched earlier on today and couldnt find an exact answer.

Anyway, today i got a call from a letting agent who is looking for an electrician to take on their maintenance in their properties. As i am starting out self employed I decided this could be a good way to get my name about so took them up on the offer, about an hour later i got a call back asking if i could go to a flat and fix a problem (busted switched fused spur).

It all went fine (apart from their consumer unit wasnt marked up at all! :eek: ), job has been done and ive to invoice the agent.

I have my invoice and stuff all set up. Just need to ask a couple questions.

I am NOT VAT registered as i am just starting out, so I dont add on a VAT charge on the total bill do i?

Also, should i, or not. Charge a price per mileage to the job? And if so, what is a reasonable ammount considering the current fuel prices?

Any help is as always greatle appreciated!

Cheers

DeeJay,

My company charges 50p per mile, but It's Ltd. & VAT Reg.

Also most of my work is breakdowns & fault finding, my van costs the company 20p per mile in diesel, the rest is to cover the insurance, and contract hire, and the "money" overheads.

Perfect, thanks for the quick response Andy!

Edit - Also another thing, my Invoice is through MS Word 2007, how would i sent it in an email so that the client can't edit it? Is there an option in MS Word to protect files?

Cheers

Perfect, thanks for the quick response Andy!Edit - Also another thing, my Invoice is through MS Word 2007, how would i sent it in an email so that the client can't edit it? Is there an option in MS Word to protect files?

Cheers
Scan it and send it as an image NOT a document?