Nothing to do with anything really .

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Evans Electric

TEF LINUX ADMIN™
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Gas_Street_Basin_Worcester_Bar.jpg

Spotted this on tinternet , pub at the back is the James Brindley where Mrs Deke and I listened to Jazz Bands on a Sunday afternoon on the balcony .

The only good thing Birmingham Council ever did was the re- vitalising of Gas Street Basin and Brindley Place .

Just felt like sharing that , no reason really .

Last edited by a moderator:
Many happy memories made at the Brindley. When I worked in the telecoms industry, the pub had it's own site designation on our database. Calling the pub was sometimes the only way to find a switch engineer on a Friday afternoon. :) Happy days.

Nice part of the canal network there. We spent a night not quite in the basin, but on the linear visitor moorings just under Broad street. That's one of the better parts of the canal. we also spent a night at the Black country museum.

There are plenty of places on the canal around those parts where one would not wish to stop for a night.

Nice part of the canal network there. We spent a night not quite in the basin, but on the linear visitor moorings just under Broad street. That's one of the better parts of the canal. we also spent a night at the Black country museum.There are plenty of places on the canal around those parts where one would not wish to stop for a night.
Well you have to look out for the rats Dave , two legged and four legged!!

Theres a great friendliness on the canal system between the boat people which I hope you experienced .

And if anyones not sure , they're narrowboats NOT barges by the way. And yes, if anyone is in that part of the country , The Black Country living Museum is well worth a visit.