OSG: Missing radial circuit

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

TTbangbang

Trainee DEI
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
262
Reaction score
0
Why is there no 32A radial circuit in 2.5/1.5mmsq T&E cable in OSG p.49 final circuits table 7.1?

This would be perfect for a washroom circuit (w/m, t/d, freezer and 3 double socket outlets) with cables clipped direct.

?:|

(doing lots of homework!)

 
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
17,033
Reaction score
21
Why is there no 32A radial circuit in 2.5/1.5mmsq T&E cable in OSG p.49 final circuits table 7.1? This would be perfect for a washroom circuit (w/m, t/d, freezer and 3 double socket outlets) with cables clipped direct.

?:|

(doing lots of homework!)
Thought radials on 2.5mm were generally fused 16A?

 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
13,621
Reaction score
297
Why is there no 32A radial circuit in 2.5/1.5mmsq T&E cable in OSG p.49 final circuits table 7.1? This would be perfect for a washroom circuit (w/m, t/d, freezer and 3 double socket outlets) with cables clipped direct.

?:|

(doing lots of homework!)
2.5mm T&E has a max current capacity of 27amps if clipped direct..

see table 6F appendix 6 pg 134.

so 32A is too big! :(

so as FS says 20a is the biggest you can go for on a 2.5 radial

 

TTbangbang

Trainee DEI
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
262
Reaction score
0
Bingo - that's what I decided upon in a rare moment of clarity Guiness Drink Guiness DrinkGuiness Drink

 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
13,621
Reaction score
297
unless you use a 25...! :D :D
:) ; )Applaud Smiley

Indeed so Step's

but as you know your bog standard domestics

semi enclosed / HRC / MCB / RCBO ratings don't have a 25amp?

NOW..

why is that?? ?:|

e.g.

why do they do a HRC 25amp

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Index/Distribution_and_Switchgear_Index/HRC_Cartridge_Fuse/index.html

classed as 'industrial'

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Index/Consumer_Units_Index/Wylex_Standard_Carriers/index.html

but NOT in the areas classed as 'domestic'? :(

obviously nothing to do with max sizes exceeded??

so why is that??? ?:| ? :|

I shall have one of these while I wait!Guiness Drink

cheers guys!Guiness Drink] :) :pBlushing

 

steptoe

of course Im wrong, ask my wife™
Joined
Feb 13, 2008
Messages
24,344
Reaction score
119
Location
Gtr Manchester
:) ; )Applaud SmileyIndeed so Step's

but as you know your bog standard domestics

semi enclosed / HRC / MCB / RCBO ratings don't have a 25amp?

NOW..

why is that?? ?:|

e.g.

why do they do a HRC 25amp

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Index/Distribution_and_Switchgear_Index/HRC_Cartridge_Fuse/index.html

classed as 'industrial'

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Index/Consumer_Units_Index/Wylex_Standard_Carriers/index.html

but NOT in the areas classed as 'domestic'? :(

obviously nothing to do with max sizes exceeded??

so why is that??? ?:| ? :|

I shall have one of these while I wait!Guiness Drink

cheers guys!Guiness Drink] :) :pBlushing
is that for real.?

suppose maybe its their way of sorting out the bobs from the sparks, lol.

focked if I know,

anyways, i been on the Guiness Drink all day in between doingf Aggies kitchen, just about to go to pub now cos Harold has let the fridge go dry, :_| :_| :_|

speak later.

 

TTbangbang

Trainee DEI
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
262
Reaction score
0
:) ; )Applaud SmileyIndeed so Step's

but as you know your bog standard domestics

semi enclosed / HRC / MCB / RCBO ratings don't have a 25amp?
Cheep cheep! Hager do a 25A RCBO...

:D

 
Top