RCD tripping when whet wether

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

molle

Reaction score
Hi, I am an solar installer and I have a costumer with a DELTA  RPI M50A 50 kw inverter divided on 10 strings installed in the spring 2019.

The RCD has been tripping alot. At first we changed it from a 30 am to a 300 ma and it got a bit better.

The pv array is placed on a farm bouilding on a metal-sheet roof.  If I understand it corretly the delta inverter doesent require a dedicated RCD but here in Sweden we have to put them for inverters on farms.

The RCD is connected only two the electrical cabinet used for the inverter.

It happends mutch more often in rainy wether then sunny weather.

This combination of rainy wether, solar panels, mettal sheet roofs and RCD tripping seams to be common.

So from reading through all the information I could find I found two possible reasons for this:

Number one:

(the text is from a forum post)

"There could be a simple fault that is caused by one of the many connectors behind the panels shorting out to the roof or the metal frame of the panels when it gets wet. The connectors should be weatherproof - perhaps one has not been fitted together properly. Also, it is good practice to suspend the connectors away from the roof tiles and the frame using tie-wraps or similar."

Number two:

(the text is taken from a forum post)