Shower Tripping

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gibbo100

Reaction score
I hope someone can help me. 
Firstly I am not a electrician. But I do know a fair bit about most DIY..
Recently my mira advanced ATL thermostatic shower started tripping my separate RCD. As I was not sure that the shower was at fault I brought a like for like second hand unit and replaced it. The RCD did stop tripping for a while but the new (second hand) shower just kept shutting off and going to RESET mode!
Soon it was also tripping the RCD again..
I have a wyelex consumer unit feeding a separate RCD which was 32 amp.
I replaced it for a 40 amp fuse. 
I did the maths and it does require a 40 amp I believe. ( 9kw)
It was still tripping the RCD. 
out of desperation I changed the double pole pull switch ( it looked a bit manky)
Still no joy.
I put the old shower back, as I was now thinking that the second hand shower I brought was no good,
Still tripping. 
I tried testing the heater element within the shower with multimeter..
0.5 ohms resistance? I think i did it right. The shower doctor on the Internet said I should be getting 11 to 18 ohms!
Then I brought a brand new shower and the resistance was the same, so I think the second hand one was good, probably along with the original!
I have not fitted the brand new one as I have spent too much already and may sell it. 
I guessing all that can be left is the cabling.
I got what looks like 10mm from CU to RCD and 6mm to the pole switch and then to shower.  
Should I and how do I test the cabling? 

I hope someone can help me. 
Firstly I am not a electrician. But I do know a fair bit about most DIY..