That main fuse again

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Couleddie

Reaction score
Just having one of headbang these moments.

Just starting a rewire where the meter tails are past their best. Meter was replaced last year. So, being a rule abiding electrician, I rang up YEDL to find the supplier of the property to get the fuse pulled. British Gas.

Rang them up - here's a brief description of conversation -

Me: I need a main service fuse removing to carry out essential work.

BG: What's that. Is it the white box that switches off all the rooms in the house?

Me: No, that would be the consumer unit. I need the main fuse removing so I can change the consumer unit.

BG: Well, you can do that can't you?

Me: No, as you are the supplier to this property it is your responsibility.

BG: I've never heard of this before but i'll go and check.

Me: (irritation level risingheadbang)

BG: (having returned) Is it the box with the switches on?

Me: No, that's the consumer unit which I am responsible for. YOU are responsible for the meter and the main fuse.

BG: How long do you need it taking out for?

Me: About 20 minutes.

BG: I'll go and check again.

Me: (irritation level contuining to riseheadbangheadbang)

BG: (having returned...again!) Yes, we can send somebody round. It'll cost

We have electricity north west as the DNO in this area, they charge for all sorts of work from fuse removal and replacement, service head upgrade, fitting of an isolator etc. Think its just another way for them to make money. they charge something like

CoulEddie:

What I could be tempted to do is contact either BG`s complaints dept, or the OFGEN ombudsman; with the complaint and the points raised in this thread. The last attempt fell by the wayside as, according to the DNO`s "there isn`t any interest in this from sparx" (sic)