Thinking of installing

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Theskid

Reaction score
Hi I’m a time served electrician,currently near the end of my career,and currently an electrical maintenance engineer at a hospital
for the last 10 years
i came from the contracting game ,and have 30 plus years experience in that,and got to the point where I was a Niceic q.s at 2 different companies
At one of those companies they did start solar p.v installations, but only the boss took on the training and became mcs certifie,I actually installed a few where he would certify them at the end,as it was probably over 15 years ago and im just trying to get my head around the installation process(memory is fading a bit),I’m going to install my own due to the rising cost of electricity which I don’t see falling,as things never do once they rise,
I know about the two points of isolation and the labelling required,I just have a few questions
is there any places on the net to refresh the process ?
where is best to purchase kits or individual items ?
As I’m not interested in putting back into the grid ,would I need some sort of switch/coupler at the mains to switch over from grid to solar,as I probably will go down the battery side of things,as I remember on installs it was just a circuit to the consumer unit,could I just do the same or are special meters required to do the switching from grid to solar?
Thanks for any help

My 2 tips

1. Make sure you install mesh around the panels to keep the pigeons out

2. Don’t put the OCPD for the inverter on a shared RCD
Thanks
But it’s the mains side I’m struggling with,2 sources at the same time is dangerous,no?
As I don’t have a smart meter
I suspect they isolate the grid automatically when they detect energy coming in from the inverter ,as it will communicate with it?