What cable or converted do I need for this MR16 7W spotlight in my bathroom? UK

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stevenpxtrick

Reaction score
Hey all, I'm a DIY and electrical noob just so you're away. Just moved into a new flat and one of the bulbs in the bathroom is not working. Pulled the other one out to inspect and will post some images below. From what I gather it's a MR16 7W bulb, it also says keylamp CCFL on there too. The main query is the way it's connected which is a black wire from the bulb which has the two prongs which goes into a black socket of another wire that then leads into the unknown. I've been searching and try my local wickes but have yet to find a suitable answer to my problem so any help would be greatly appreciated! :)

Images posted here:

can you rotate the bulb at all? (in either direction?)
I probably should've made it clearer but the pics in the photo is a working bulb, the other socket I have is what I need to replace but I only have the wire that is coming out of the socket (last pic) so need to find a bulb + wire that would plug into this.

The bulb suggests its a nasty "bulky" CFL - can you remove the bulb to confirm this?

And post a photo of what you are describing?
I'm sure the bulb/ lamp will just pull/twist out.
Hi so should've mentioned this but the photo with the bulb is the existing one but im trying to replace the other empty socket. But I did try to screw/pull out the bulb and it doesnt, seems to have come like this. but the bulb is fine its the other one I need to replace, this video might help more:

Good video BUT doesn't give all the information.

I don't recognise the fitting

So if you take a working unit down, can you remove the bulb from it AND what happened to the unit you are trying to replace?