Anyone starting up or needs to pull in some work ?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Evans Electric

TEF LINUX ADMIN™
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Yes I know we've had all this before but there are new members who may benefit from the discussion.

If you are mainly domestic and possibly just starting on your own this may be of use .      I think we mostly agreed on the following  do's & don'ts .   Some of this is my own opinion but others will no doubt contribute their views too.

It is assumed that you are a qualified sparks & know what you are doing .

DO .........become known as an electrician locally. 

DO......... get your van sign written ....important, keep it simple but make sure the message is ...look I'm an electrician...this is my number...I live & work in your area .

DO .........get cards printed .

DO........ advertise locally  ( this is where you work)   Church magazine , local councillor's flyer .

DO ......... use the local website  . The one called Streetlife is now  Nextdoor , they don't advertise but you can answer a call for a sparks , do a good job, and get recommended .

DO .......... realise that its who knows you that counts , builder , local small business/ shop etc. And a good job for one person leads to all their family knowing about you .

DON'T....... bother with any coloured pages , no one looks anymore .

DO........... create a website .

DO........... join a scam  Domestic Installer Scheme  ( You have no choice I'm afraid ) NICEIC / ELECSA / NAPPITT / STROMA .  You can then sign off your own work .

DON'T ...... bother paying into fair trade type schemes & a few others , no one knows what they are .

DO ........... remember also when working on a job with a plumber ,decorator , getting your van repaired etc . Give them your card . Plumber may not like doing electrics so......