Basic Lighting Question - Halogen/normal to LED conversion

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

axumazza

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a complete beginner with all this so apologies and bear with me.

I have a house that has loads of the old MR16 (dual "pins") bulbs as downlights. I have bought a load of replacement LEDs bulbs to match the fittings.

My understanding is that the original Halogen MR16 bulbs will have transformers attached (I can't really tell as everything is in the ceiling cavity and i'm worried about pulling on the wires too hard!).
I have replaced all the MR16 halogen with leds. Everything seems to work fine aside from a couple of sections of lights (see Q2 below).

Question 1 : Is this OK to just swap out halogen with LED bulbs like this ?
Question 2 : In an area of the house that used to be the garage and has been converted, a couple of the LED bulbs are flickering. If i place 2 normal Halogens back into fixings, the rest of the LEDs work fine - is this OK to do ?

Question 3 (unrelated to the above) : I understand that certain bulbs, GU10 etc, have in-built drivers to reduce the incoming power ? My mum has an old house, i'm sure there will be no transformers etc, if she gets fittings which take the types of bulbs that have in-built drivers, does she need to do anything else ?

Many thanks in advance!

In reverse order.
Any GU10 LED lamp will be ok, it is as you suggest a straight swap, but do change them in the day with the lights off.

MR16 lamps are 12v and the mains being 230v ac you need something to transform the 230vac to 12vac so you will find that your lights have "transformers"

Examples: (I made the money figures up)
20watt lamp needs 20+ watt transformer (Say £7 each)
6 x 20 w lamps require 6 transformers = £42

Enter the big 150 w transformer it costs £21

You can figure the rest yourself.