Consumer Unit Replacement

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PIP IOM

Reaction score
Hi again

Up until now I've replaced CU's and completed a random Z's on, mainly socket circuits and the odd light fitting, issued a EIC stating "full periodid inspection NOT carried out (recommended)" I queried if this was OK with our ECA tech rep when we first started testing and certing and Part P'ing over here app 2 yrs ago, he said as long as you state what you have and haven't done on your cert you're OK.

Just taken delivery yesterday of the ESC CU replacement in domestic premises document and it states that every R1+R2 must be checked and every Zs plus the usual insulation/Ze etc.

I take it that you are all working to this already???

The reason I'm ranting is I tried this format today T + C'ing a job I've been working on for about 6 months (2 X 10 way CU's replaced plus other MW's) it took me the whole day just to complete the required tests (just got in), 20 ccts and I'm knackered and need wine (customer pi....sed off).

Why do we need to do R1+R2's when we're doing Zs's for a CU change and is this doc a legal requirement?

How long do you guys allow for a ,say, 10 way CU change + bonding + earth upgrade + T+C'ing? my guess after today would be at least 2 days if you don't find anything wrong.

Phew got wine now,calming down:

:Y

Yes that is what (I would hope at least) we are all doing. Your 2 day guess is not far off the mark for a 10way with no issues (but there are always issues ;) ).

Part P is a legal requirement and one way of achieving that is following BS7671 that does require all the tests you describe on every circuit. If its not performed or has failed testing it should not be connected to the new CU and energised "just for tonight".