Diversity CU rating

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi, here is a good one for you all!! Now then, i am an aspiring electrician, studying [myself] for my 17th ed, and i try to get things right.

Anyway, Someone asked me today if it was ok if the total connected load to a CU, was more than the main switch rating [say 100A]

I said no it most certainly was not ok, as the incomer had to be sized to switch the total connected load BEFORE any diversity had been applied.

I then found something on the internet from NAPIT that claims yes you can. [apply diversity that is]

Here is the article concerned;

http://www.napitonline.com/downloads/CP%204%2007%20P%2010-11%2016th%20Diversity.pdf

Now then, I DO NOT CARE WHAT NAPIT THINK. I always understood that a switching device had to be rated for the full connected load, even better, at the very bottom of page 96 of the OSG it says "It is important to ensure that distribution boards or consumer units are of sufficient rating to take the total load connected to them without the application of any diversity"

Since if i burn someones house down, the prosecution is going to say that, "he did not adhere to the instructions issued by the IEE, and M'lud, they wrote the wiring regulations which can be relied upon in evidence" so lock him up for 35 years, i think i would rather listen to the IEE than NAPIT.

What you all think???

its been done to death.

there is nothing to stop the total value of all the MCB's adding upto more than the rating of the incoming supply.

typical example

a house has 1x 30A ring main and 1x 5A light circuit. total 35A

i re-wire it with

3x ring (up/down/kitchen). 96A

up/down lights - 12A

boiler - 6A

total 114. yet a few days earlier it was perfectly fine running at 35A even though nothing has changed