Electrical supply for brewing beer question

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beno73

Reaction score
Hi Fella's

I'm not an Electrician but I need your help to brew beer. I want to purchace a brewing system that is capable of brewing about 65l but it is a 15amp appliance. Obviouslly the UK sockets are 13amp but want your help to find out if i should swap out he socket to a 15amp, 16amp commando or just leave it as it is?

What would be the safest way of combating this problem?

It will be in a domestic house, or internal garage i shoud say and the garage runs off it's own breaker, the wire is 2.5 twin and earth.

Cheers

Ben

that is a lot of current to heat beer?
do you have a link for the unit you want?,
would this be from the good old US of A ?

I wonder if it is the Brewzilla kit thingy 😳 its from a UK based company and it does state you need a 15A dedicated supply.

i see its 3500w, (off topic but why would you need so much heat , would that not kill the yeast? looks more like a still with that worm,)

sorry Beno73 but you will need to get someone in to add a circuit if this is what you have

Wow! You guys are quick at replying. thank you.

Yes it's a Kegland Brewzilla Gen 4 check it out. The 35l is only 13A but the 65L is 15A, they are Australian standard so obviously they have different requirements.

Yes it's alot of Amps for a heater but it also pushes a pump at the same time, I guess with the heating up 65l of water, grain and to pump it around requires alot of power. I won't be brewing the max amount so won't be pushing the 15A max.

that is a lot of current to heat beer?
do you have a link for the unit you want?,
would this be from the good old US of A ?