Extension Lead

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kelvfoozinda

Reaction score
Supplied by our Eastern European building friends on a site I visited recently. I assume they wanted their tools to work better!

2012-08-10121408.jpg

I needed that on a site last week.

Festoon lighting powered from a 110V transformer. Judging by how dim the lighting was, I am sure they had 230V lamps plugged in.

That reminds me of a job i did in a hotel near beamish when I was an apprentice the spark told me to change a pendant in a room simple loop in method isolated replaced put lamp in turned power on pop thought must be a duff got another lamp pop did this 3 times then looked at box it said 110 volts labourer had mixed all 110 volt.and 230 volt lamps up got no end of stick for weeks lol

I did that once too Alpha. Fitted some halogen in a church hall popped about four before realising I had got the 110 volt ones mixed up what a Rodney.

I actually have a lead very similar to that,

except it is a 240/230 lead with a 110 plug on the end, and a short runner with a 230/240 plug and a 110 socket on it, it can be used as both a 230/240 or a 110 lead depending on my needs,

it is kept as an emergency spare if I need more than one 110 or 230/240 leads as I only carry one of each normally.

Done a job about 9 years ago for a man who was proud to call himself a self maid millionaire. just finished 2nd fixing when the owner came up to me and said " you've got a problem. I've just turned the hallway light on and the bulbs blown" whilst I'm having a look he comes up and says "got the same problem in the lounge" started to scratch my head at this point. Then saw the bloke go to garage and come back with new lamps. Turns out he was nicking the lamps out of the builders 110v festoon lights.