Newlec NLSH24AN Night Storage Heater

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Durkee Atwood

Reaction score
I am new to this forum. I am not an electrician but a competent electronics engineer and I understand electricity, the dangers and my limitations. I always seek professional help for certifying any electrical work. I thought this was a necessary statement just in case it hampered a fully qualified electrician in offering an amateur electrician advice or opinion.

I have a Newlec NLSH24AN night storage heater. It has been working well for over five years. Recently it has stopped working. I have done the obvious: checked RCD in distribution board, checked that the neon light at the main switch is on (at night). There is power to the switch. I have isolated it and checked continuity of the switch actuator. I have checked continuity of live and neutral from the switch to the terminal block inside the heater (plastic terminal block) and that checks out OK. On checking continuity from the ceramic terminal block to the thermostatic control back to the plastic terminal block...nothing. On checking continuity on the input control the limit thermostat shows no continuity. The input thermostat shows continuity. Across the two there is no continuity. Can I assume that the limit thermostat has failed? Is the limit thermostat controlled by the room sensor thermostat and could that have failed? Or am I missing a trick here? Cost of replacement limit thermostat

Welcome to the forum Durkee Atwood, I think these devices normally have some sort of internal thermal cut-out, but I shall leave that for the other guys to answer better than I could. Also I have moved this thread to the more appropriate "Central Heating & Storage heaters, etc" forum.

Doc H.