Power Inverter Fuses

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grt118fr14

Reaction score
I've bought a modified sine wave 500w - continuous / 1000w - peak inverter. It is for 12v use and has two 30amp removable blade fuses on the outside in plastic housings, easily accessible unlike some models where they can be soldered or housed internally. I've searched the Internet and can't find out what I want to know which is: does this mean it's effectively a 60amp fuse or is it perhaps two separate circuits each with 30amp protection?

As its a 500w inverter with 12v power supply the amps could be around 41 at full power using P=IV

I'm hoping it's not a case of the answer being so basic that that's why there's no info on this but I am totally new to inverters and understanding anything electrical.

I'm planning on using a 240v tyre inflator with the inverter which draws 360watts at 1.5amps and is fitted with a 5amp fuse on the 3 pin plug.
I'm assuming from that the much higher rated 30amp fuses are for the inverters dc side of things and as they are the same type as car blade fuses which works off dc that kind of confirmed that to me?

I may as well also ask while I'm here, if my car battery is a 68amp 12v (I'm aware it has a much higher cold cranking rating of nearly 700amps but dont think you use that figure?) and my alternator is 140amp which do you use in working out the maximum inverter you could run off your car system? Obviously there's a difference of 816watts for battery or 1680 watts for alternator and does it work like that as in a direct translation of volts x amps = watts which equals max watt of inverter you can use with that battery?