Problem of the week, too many wires in a socket.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
This is one I found on Monday:

You are tasked with the seemingly easy job of replace all the switches and sockets in a kitchen with shiny new posh ones.

All is going well, until you unscrew one of the old sockets to find it has 4 wires connected to it. Being three 2.5mm twin and earth, and one 1.5mm twin and earth.

The questions:

What's wrong with what you have found? (hint more than one thing wrong)

What tests would you do to establish what all the wires are for?

What might you do to put it all right?

I know you are unlikely to guess exactly what I found, but it will be interesting to see how you would proceed.

Hi there,

Well, I am a newbie, so i will have a go!!

There is no knowing what someone has done, so i would disconnect all the wires having first taken a photo so i can but them back if needs be..

Then either by turning the power back [probably] or using a continuity tester i would see which pair of wired fed the thing, and then trace the others with a meter and a long test lead to see just where they DO go...

john

You are on the right lines of testing what does what, but NOT by powering it up to do live testing.

There's a simple way to determine which two are the actual ring final, with the circuit still dead. Care to suggest what that method is?

Then you just have to determine what the other two are.

Look around, see what's where. In this case there's an FCU directly above the socket that feeds a cooker hood. What testing would you do to see if one of them connects to that?

Last edited by a moderator:
Posts removed Badger, and all posts that referred to yours.

IT IS A STUDENT QUESTION !!!

Hi Again!!