problems galore

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Robj63

Reaction score
I am studying hopefully to become a domestic installer ( age 47) Im trying to get as much practical as i can so ive been checking my own house for problems / practicing testing etc so far ive come across the following, and in brackets after is what ive done

1 No main bonding to mains water ( bonded as close to incoming pipe as poss using 10mm)

2 No supp bonding in bathroom ( bonded using 4 mm)

3 Found out every socket and switch is missing an earth tail to back box ( work in progress)

4The house was built in mid 70s with an extension built on in 1999 and have discovered sockets in original part of house are on one circuit ( upstairs and down) sockets in kitchen are on same circuit as bedroom ( both in new part) this dosent sound right , was it common practice then to do this?

Re Q3, if the back boxes have one fixed metal lug then an earth fly-lead to the the back box is not essential. But many electricians do fit them anyway as they consider it good practice. Re Q4, there is no requirement to split circuits across any specific rooms, but the installer should consider the overall loading of circuits. It is not uncommon for extensions to be wired onto new circuits back to the fuse box to save disturbing existing circuits.

Doc H.

Re Q3, if the back boxes have one fixed metal lug then an earth fly-lead to the the back box is not essential. But many electricians do fit them anyway as they consider it good practice. Re Q4, there is no requirement to split circuits across any specific rooms, but the installer should consider the overall loading of circuits. It is not uncommon for extensions to be wired onto new circuits back to the fuse box to save disturbing existing circuits.Doc H.
Thanks for your rersponse