Valve Actuator Clicking

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

catch_phrase

Reaction score
Hello All,

I hope you can help

I have a boiler in the in the landing like most houses and in there I have 3 Siemens Actuators

EDIT: Cannot add links to the Siemens Actuator as Im a newbie so it's a Siemes CZV222 2 Port Zone Valve

They control, upstairs, downstairs and the water boiler itself.

Recently the one controlling the boiler was acting up but it has now moved on to the actuator controlling the valve for the upstairs heating(controlled by a thermostat).

They are CLICKING so I opened them I find they are clicking as though trying to close the valve. The spring(s) are bouncing back and forth but the actual unit isn't making a difference to the movement of the valve which is of course separate. There is no issue with opening and closing the valve as I can do this with my own hands when the actuator is removed.

I have ONE actuator ordered for next week so change it out.

Is there something I'm doing or should be doing?

That's unusual then.

A 2 port valve is either on or off.  You energise it and the motor spins round until it stalls at the end stop.  De energise it and it returns under spring pressure.

It's the 3 port valves that have a more complex mechanism to allow them to stop mid way, and if one of their microswitches fails, they will hunt backwards and forwards like you describe.

another thought. you are not trying to energise the actuator with it removed from the valve are you?  Some makes (I think honeywell is one but not sure about Siemens) rely on the end stop in the valve body. If you power the actuator while not connected to the body, there is no end stop to stall the motor at the end of travel, and it over runs and "twangs" back.