Which type of inverter for 8.5kW East-West PV system 3phase or 1phase ?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bladerunnerpv

Reaction score
Hi all, I've been reading this forum with interest for some while now, gradually trying to get my head around various topics from the discussions, and doing a fair bit of web searching to try and learn as much as I can.

I haven't seen a thread on my particular question, and am looking for some advice, so here goes. I have no practical electrics experience so apologies if I'm slower on the uptake. Obviously as a beginner I don't appreciate what's inadvisable or maybe even completely stupid ;-)

Background :
House with basically an East-West aspect, roof ridgeline is 170deg magnetic on a compass, so 10deg East of South, making one roof face 080deg the other 260deg, or w.r.t. South -100, +80 . I'll just refer to them as East-facing and West-facing for simplicity. Roof pitch is about 30deg.

What would I like it to do :
1 Use less grid elec to save me some money with prices being uncertain to say the least !
2 provide some level of EPS/UPS
i. to gas boiler so it doesn't get cut off in the winter
ii. for some medical equipment used overnight all year round
iii. provide enough for a fridge freezer and a freezer during power cuts, the fridge-freezer is more important
iv. to power wi-fi router which is presumably necessary to continue managing the PV system (mobile networks will go dead in a power cut)
3 potentially provide some hot water
4 down the line provide some electric vehicle charging, but that's prob. at least 2yrs away, maybe 5yrs