wiring to garden sheds.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnston1991

Reaction score
hello im new to this i am a level 2 qualified electrical apprentice,

we have decided to wire up the two sheds in the garden and i have drawn up a basic plan of the wiring, could you take a look and let me know if it looks safe? the plastic conduit will be clipped to the bottom of wooden fence pannels,

many thanks :)

gardenplan-1.png

firstly, use 6mm 3 core armoured instead of 4mm and pvc conduit. to top shed as the main supply, and use 4mm 3 core armoured to the bottom shed between those shed and rate that at 20 amps. other than that cant see a major probem there,

thanks for all the information and the ring in the shed was only having 3 or 4 double plug sockets, so 4mm radial a better idea?

Firstly Hi Johnston1991 and good choice of career I hope the apprenticeship is going ok? The circuits don't appear to be RCD protected? Also you are exporting the cpc from the house I can see Mr Steptoe having a few thoughts on that lol.

Hello Johnston welcome to the forum.

The two things I have picked are it is not good practice to fix cable to wooden fences at some point they may need replacing and also if they are blown over cable could be damaged.

The second point is it is not good practice to export the earth from the house especially if it is pme.

Batty

hi the circuit is pretected by an 63A rccb up at the main consumer unit? would that not cover it? and thanks its going well :) and yes i was planning on running the cpc straight off of the supply in the main c.u no good? now iv been advised to use SWA il be running it underground..

thanks