AM2 Help

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kiwilee

Reaction score
Hello all!

First up I'd like to say what a great forum this is.

Let me introduce myself, my name is Lee & Im an apprentice electrician on the Isle of Wight, I've almost finished my time as an apprentice & got my AM2coming up soon.

So i've been looking around this site for a few months now to gather up some info about it & what to expect. I have come across some helpful posts, Barge, Andy & sparky 999 spring to mind.

So I was hoping if anyone out there could tell me, with the M.I circiut, I know the outer sheath is to be used as the earth, and I heard the pots they give you to use dont have a earth conductor on them

So does this mean that you have to use a banjo at either end of the M.I cable as you do with the SWA? .

Or is the M.I earthed via the chassis of the D/B, is this a sufficient enough earth?.

Sorry if this sounds like a dumb question!!, I like most sparks out there just dont get to work with the stuff. So I am unsure!

Thanks people I hope you can help

Cheers

Lee

Hia Lee,

Just a quick question, have you undertaken a pyro termination at all? The reason I ask is that what I am about to say will make more sense if you have.

An MI cable more often than not uses its sheath as CPC, though using a seperate conductor for earth is not unheard of.

Once the outer sheath is stripped back, the pot that you install with an olive (colleges like to reuse MI gland packs so dont install the olive) the olive then provides the earth continuity, or you could use the fly lead specially designed for MI pots.

Hope this helps Lee, any other info you are after just shout.

AndyGuinness

Welcome to Forum .