Can a 250 V IR test still damage equipment

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
No, this is isn't related to my last post. Well I guess it is related in the fact both are regarding IR tests, but I haven't blown anything up doing IR tests, lol.

If doing an IR test and are unsure if anything it left connected. Is doing a 250 V (L-N) to CPC test safe, even for 'sensitive' equipment?

Ta

It probably depends on the equipment, it shouldn't see 250V between the live conductors and earth so it wouldn't be a great surprise if something did fail doing LN to CPC @ 250V.

It probably depends on the equipment, it shouldn't see 250V between the live conductors and earth so it wouldn't be a great surprise if something did fail doing LN to CPC @ 250V.
I always assumed that this was safe, and 500vdc L-N was unsafe 

Well, ok, so i am not an electrician, but i would have thought that if any particular piece of equipment [and i am talking class one stuff now] could not stand 250v to earth, it would be positively dangerous to use, being as how in use, it will see anything up to about 360V to earth..

This is presumably why 250v circuits are tested at 500v

john..

I worded that badly, what I meant was I wouldn't be surprised if a 250V IR test did affect something in a bad way. It shouldn't, but I am always wary.

250V between Live and Earth and  Live and Neutral are business as usual for any remaining connected devices

It's 250 V d.c. limited to 10mA, any low resistance on the circuit from connected appliances and the voltage drops dramatically, and very quickly after connection.

This is patently obvious with the Fluke 156x & 166x series, I'm not sure about any others, as it gives you the actual test voltage along with the IR reading.