Clicking noise within ceiling void

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AP5235

Reaction score
Hi. I've recently moved into a rental flat. I'm having problems with a letting agent being extremely unhelpful. Before I go down the route of reading the riot act to them I wondered if anybody could help me identify a problem with an intermittent clicking noise that is coming from the within the ceiling located in the corridor inside my flat (not the shared corridor). The noise is quite loud (enough to wake me) and seems to happen day and night completely randomly. I think it is electrical but I have no knowledge. I turned off the main incomer at the junction box but it still sounded. Is it the sound of a relay, arcing? Could there be a circuit up there related to another flat or communal area?
Thanks in advance for looking.

View attachment New video.mp4

Hi. It's an old conversion. Couldn't say for sure what runs about the ceiling but there are other flats above. If you listen to the noise on the video its a mechanical/electrical noise, not a door shutting.

If you listen to the noise on the video its a mechanical/electrical noise,

I for one, could not hear anything. :cautious: But suppose it is a relay (Or not) what would you like us to do about it? o_O

Sorry it does not solve your problem, you will have to keep complaining. Put it in writing to the management company.

Are you sure it's random? It sounds to me like a relay or contactor energising. Economy 7 time clock turning on or off?

I don't think it's a "fault" so what do you expect the LL to do if there is nothing to "fix"?

Apologies if you can't hear the noise on the video, it plays loud enough here.
I was looking for some help in identifying the noise and to identify if it is a fault.