EIC or PIR

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

heathelect

Domestic Installer
Reaction score
I am a NICEIC registerd domestic installer. If i change a consumer unit i have to test the whole installation and issue an EIC. As I have tested the whole installation could this also be classed as a PIR, but as a domestic installer I am not allowed to do a PIR under the banner of the NICEIC, WHY, Anyone got any thoughts or ideas ???????

regrds dave Guiness DrinkGuiness DrinkGuiness DrinkGuiness Drink

I am a NICEIC registerd domestic installer. If i change a consumer unit i have to test the whole installation and issue an EIC. As I have tested the whole installation could this also be classed as a PIR, but as a domestic installer I am not allowed to do a PIR under the banner of the NICEIC, WHY, Anyone got any thoughts or ideas ???????regrds dave Guiness DrinkGuiness DrinkGuiness DrinkGuiness Drink
AFAIK it covers a couple of areas..

1/ If you change a CU the actual work you are signing for is the "Consumer unit" NOT the condition of whole installation, e.g. you are not required to go opening up a sample of sockets & switches etc..

2/ Certain organisations specifically request a PIR done by an NICEIC contractor on NIC headed certificates, (this affects insurance for the building and other bits).. These include many commercial applications.. e.g. Pub's & Clubs', some Landlords etc.. a council entertainments licence may specify an NIEEIC PIR.

If every Dom Inst could issue PIR's on NIC PIR paper, this would devalue the PIR requires standard or the above instances.

e.g. a spark may be competent to re-wire a Domestic dwelling..

But may not be able to PIR a three phase supply in a night club!

So NICEIC want to ensure PIR competence as a separate issue. IMHO! ;)