garage power help from the pros

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chen77

Reaction score
Hi

I am studying to be an electrican and I quite often set myself some challenges to see if i'm learning well.

My mate is wanting to run a new supply to his garage. So I thought I would do some calculations to see if I can work out the cable required correctly. Could someone tell me if I am correct with my answer.Also there are a couple of questions at the end as well.

He has a TNCS 230v supply

His usage will be about 8.48KW (he has a lot of power tools and three ponds for koi)

It we be run from a 17th edition consumer unitin the house. So I thought use a 40amp MCB.

From consumer unit in house to consumer unit in garage is about 25 meters.

The cable would be a swa thermosetting cable clipped directly to the wall.

Ive worked out that he should use a 4mm cable. Would you agree?

Also ive seen on previous threads not to connect the earth to the earth on the house, to create a new earth path from the garage using an earth rod in the ground. Is this correct? and if so what is the reason behind it.

And also would you use a 2 core cable? if so would you connect the armoured cable to the earth on the garage side and not the house side?

If I have missed anything please let me know.

behind

not done any calc, but 4mm on 40a over 25 doesnt sound right

as for the armour earth, this MUST always be earthed at the supply end. if TTing the other end, then isolate the armour earth at the load end

---------- Post Auto-Merged at 21:46 ---------- Previous post was made at 21:45 ----------

TLC volt drop calc shows 10mm

A few things you need to consider,

Diversity (you may have already done that)

Current Carrying Capacity

Volt Drop

Giving the answers would be easy ;)

Hello

Is there any water or gas in garage. Is it a metal framed constrution.