IEE Regulations regarding communal lighting tariffs

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

strapkass

Reaction score
IEE Regulations regarding communal lighting tariffs

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi

I am not an electrician, but a council tenant who has been systematically overcharged by my local council for communal electricity charges. I live in one of seven blocks each containing 6 flats. Each block has communal lighting and in each block there is a meter, presumably to log the communal lighting and door entry systems electricity consumption. Despite this, my council insist on estimating the charges and despite the clearly rated low energy bulbs that are fitted, they insist on the following:

IEE regulations page 85, appendix 1, note 2 states that Final circuits for discharge lighting must be arranged so as to be capable of carrying the total steady current, viz. that of the lamp(s) and any associated gear and also the harmonic currents. Where more exact information is not available, the demand in volt-amperes is taken as the rated lamp watts multiplied by not less than 1.8. This multiplier is based upon the assumption that the circuit is corrected to a power of not less that 0.85 lagging and takes into account control gear losses and harmonic current.

Like I said, I'm not an electrician and this is all gobbledegook to me, especially as there is a meter present and all I ask for is the bill to be reflected by the meter reading and not some mystical mathematical formula which in my opinion bears no relevance to the problem at hand...namely overcharging residents for communal electricity by a factor of 1.8 and then some....