Installing spotlights.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hoppy

Reaction score
Hi guys.

when doing spots / downlights in a living room and you can't get access under the floor boards above, how do you guys go a bout installing them?

How do you miss or even pass through joists?

Got 12 to fit, 4 rows of 3, exisitng cileing rose in centre of room. They are mains 230v, but due to only having a commercial background and still being a trainee, I am unsure on where to begin with the install.

My circuit knowledge is sound, it is my install and practical skills in a domestic enviroment i need help with.

The guy i work with is lets just say useless at advising me, so all you knowlege and help is much appreciated.

I know the more experienced guys on here may be p@@@ed off with this sort of post but i genuinely need some guidance. I am not thick just after some sound advice please.

I have never done spots before! But got to learn somewhere, so my dads house is the perfect practice place!!!!! ;)

Thanks as always

Craig

why can you not access the floor above? Unfortunately unless all your spotlights and the point of connection are within the same space between joists then you will have to make a mess of the ceiling. You may be lucky and be able to 'fish' cables to where you want them. Are the lights flush or mounted on a bar?

Only real way is by butchering the ceiling, cut out your intended holes, then use your cable roads to find the nearest joist, then cut out the board underneath it.

If huge holes are ok, then drill the joist, if only small then notch it.

use the largest holesaw you have and cut out your route, keep the cut outs then screw them back and patch up.