Learning privately.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kli1

Reaction score
As I can not find someone willing to take me on as an apprentice, I have opted to learn privately. Anyone done this before? I'm applying through a company called "Access Trade Careers" www.tradecareers.co.uk They say they are highly recognized, this true?

Basically I get sent stuff and when I think I am ready, I go down to Cardiff to the training centre for a week where I am continually tested. This happens 4 weeks in total.

The guy that interviewed me said the fastest he's seen someone complete the course is 6 months:O This seems too good to be true!

The qualifications I come out at the end of it is:

Hi

I think i am correct in what i am about to put but please check further...

You are a qualified domestic installer not a qualified electrician. The electrician scope is far wider than this, hope that helps

recommend you visit niceic website, click on training courses select domestic installer scheme and try this route.

As I can not find someone willing to take me on as an apprentice, I have opted to learn privately. Anyone done this before? I'm applying through a company called "Access Trade Careers" www.tradecareers.co.uk They say they are highly recognized, this true?Basically I get sent stuff and when I think I am ready, I go down to Cardiff to the training centre for a week where I am continually tested. This happens 4 weeks in total.

The guy that interviewed me said the fastest he's seen someone complete the course is 6 months:O This seems too good to be true!

The qualifications I come out at the end of it is:

That sounds a lot of money. You will still need a lot of practical experience to become an electrician.batty