Pat Testing Yay Or Nay

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlueFlashAsh

Reaction score
Hi guys im thinking or getting a PAT tester. if you have read any of my previous post you'll know im new to the game and in college working full time (non electric) etc etc. the main reason im getting it is to earn money and get some work at least more in keeping with the trade i think it will also be a good jumping off point to get other small work too. im really just wondering what you guys think? do you do PAT tests? would i ever see the money i spend for the equipment again? is there any money to be made if im only doing it around my job and college? any tips advice or guidance you can give me would be much appreciated also any ideas for equipment? Tester iv seen them range from under a £100 to over a £1k

do u have any PAT testing training behind you? have u companies that have approached you to PAT Test items for you?

Most sparks I know won't entertain pat testing for a number of reasons.

Mainly as they get undercut by the sticker brigade.

I recently purchased a pat tester from megger mark as it seemed like a bargain.

I get the odd person asking for items pat testing

And I also pat test my own equipment so it can be allowed on various sites I visit.

Also I've been to number of call outs where the rcd I'n the house has tripped and its down to a faulty appliance. In which I can show y the appliance has failed.

I think it's an investment for my business.

I do some PA Testing, but not a lot.  Knowing your level of intellect, more than a few hours of it at a time will drive you to boredom.  I tend only to do it for customers I know from doing other electrical work.

I just charge my normal hourly rate, but you will find a lot of PAT firms charging ridiculously low "per item" prices so don't try competing with those.