Phase Neutral Reverse Fault on Kitchen socket

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

intamixx

Reaction score
I have a strange problem with some sockets in my kitchen and was wondering whether anyone can shed some light on this problem.

I have a "master" twin socket that has a "slave" single socket.  Both sockets are in the kitchen and on the inside wall of which the exterior side faces the garden.  The single socket was put in about 3 years ago when I had the kitchen refurbished, the twin socket has been there for at least 20 years.  There is an light switch for the external garden light about a metre up (and to the right) from the single socket.  Both plug sockets and light switches are flush "in" the wall, with the plastic face-plates extruding out.

I have a Martindale socket tester and a electric tester screwdriver.

Ok, I have unscrewed the master socket plate from the wall and it is fine and the socket tester states it is wired correctly for both sockets.  If I touch the electric tester screwdriver on its metal back box, it shows no current.  There is a slave 3 core wire that is connected to the earth, neutral, live connectors of this twin socket.  It is going up out of this metal back box into the wall, I believe trunked over the outside kitchen door, and then going into the "slave" single socket.  Of course this is all in the wall so I'm not 100% sure how it gets there.  (I vaguely recall seeing the wiring trunked into the wall when the refurb took place).