shower rcd

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dean mac

Reaction score
hi all was speaking to my mate the other day and he reckons showers dont have to be rcd protected unless the manafacturer says they should,wot are ur views guys

I'm a vet and I know that ALL circuits in a special location require RCD protection.

All together now 'although the regs are not retrospective'

Water + electricity --> RCD!

I'm not absolutely sure, but I seem to recall a discussion we had at work whilst the 16th was current, and the concensus was that although it was usually reccommended by manufacturers to put them on an rcd protected supply it wasn't a requirement as long as the bonding was up to scratch. None of us would have installed a shower without an RCD at that time. But with the 17th I really don't see there is any way round an RCD, and I cant imagine why anyone would consider it either.

if the manufacturers instructions say it needs an RCD... it needs an RCD... this has always been the same

until 17th ed, showers didnt have to have them, unless above, but most sparks still fitted them

Yeah Dean Mac put it on an rcd u will feel so much better about urself lol.

Dont the 17th say that manufacturers instructions should be followed? Hence if no RCD installed when mfcrs instructions said they should be, means..... electricity + water + accident = lawsuit?

Dont the 17th say that manufacturers instructions should be followed? Hence if no RCD installed when mfcrs instructions said they should be, means..... electricity + water + accident = lawsuit?
thats wot hes saying if manafacturers says theres no need then we dont have to fit one,i personally would disagree and say u would have to put on in regardless

Regulation 701.411.3.3In specific locations such as those containing a bath or

shower there is a requirement now to provide RCD