Transition to Offshore

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jayglynn

Reaction score
Hi guys just looking for and info that could be useful, I'm a fully qualified Electrician and I'm doing my BOSIET and MIST training next week and then on to Aberdeen in february to do my Compex. I'm also doing Rigger and Banksman/Slinger training as it's part of my survival training course. I have no experience off shore so any help is much appreciated.

No I haven't been offered a job but with the construction industry more or less at a stand still I tought there would be more opportunities in Oil & Gas.

TBH , unless you actually know someone in the industry it may be a LOT of money spent for nothing, unless you have a lot of patience and perseverance.

it is very very hard to get into without previous experience,

I have done this in the past and TBH its so long ago they are'nt interested in me now, my only way back in in the fields and then back to UK,

I have seriously looked at this recently as my FIL works in Qatar(unrelated industry), but can still get me on the fields with his contacts,

but its just NOT financiably viable.

I tought the money was pretty good. I'm thinking if I don't get anything by march that I'll do an Instrumentation course, they seem to advertise a lot for that position on job sites also I'm pretty flexible as in I'd be willing to work more or less anywhere.

Jay, it depends on what you think is good money,

offshore in the UK is good money, if you will do the conditions and work rotas,

getting the job offshore in the UK with your lack of experience may be a lot harder than you think,

I was talking about the middle est being not viable for myself, not UK,

I really wouldnt ever want to go back doing that anyway,

Im a bit too old these days, ;)