Unidentified Potentially Live Cable.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arunciblespoon

Reaction score
Hi.

I work in a factory. During the course of the days activities towards the end of the day (other competent people left the building) a cable was found by an unskilled person. 

This cable was threaded through a metal work desk that has a functioning florescent tube mounted to it.

It was in trying to find the switch for this light that the cable was found. 

I checked the end of the cable, it had clearly been cut with snips and thrown over the top of this work station. As previously said the cable went into the box section frame of the metal work station. Where the other end was not obvious (in fact it took a long time to find it after the event) and there was a bundle of cables near by going hither and thither. The cable was ordinary three core flex, 1mm maybe 1.5mm at a guess. It had been there some time. 

However now this potentially live cable is dangling in mid air with ordinary people in the area.

My tools, (not with me, at the other end of the factory) comprise

A multimeter ( I would not have wanted to be probing the end of this cable with the meter)

Insulated screwdrivers various sizes.

cutters, insulated.

long nose and short nose pliers, not insulated.

spanners 

wire strippers, uninsulated.

My question is, given the tools available, and the situation described....

What would you do?

sorry, I should have said.I am the competant person. Its the p.o.v of other competent people. I am after.

so you, as a 'competent person', have knowingly left a potentially live wire hanging there where someone could get a shock? sorry, but that is not something anyone 'competent' would do. and if you were competent, you would not need to ask. something dodgy going on here...

No I did not leave it hanging there.