17th edition minor works

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

eeb1933

Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
35
Reaction score
0
Hi all just thought i'd say hello and post my first thread.

i've been asked to put a light in a broom cupboard in a hallway. no problem light in hallway 2 feet away to take a feed. Right here it comes board is not RCD the old wylex 8 way with retro fit. Done my 2382 in june but been on new builds and i know all circuits have to be rcd now. Asked my body and they say new cu, Told customer but their having non of it. Any of you had this? Is their no other way round this? ? ?:|

 
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
17,033
Reaction score
21
Hello mate and welcome to the forum :D

I'm not a spark but if you ran spur off lighting circuit to a RDC fused spur then to your new light and switch you'd probably be ok. If it's a broom cupboard it won't be on general view anyways

:D

 

Admin1

Forum Founder
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
10,278
Reaction score
-1
Indeed Cheggers.

Apache's suggestion was decent also. :D

But I'd go for Cheggers' though. :)

 

Admin1

Forum Founder
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
10,278
Reaction score
-1
Surface mount trunking would look crappy for 2 feet!
Not if you put it in the right places - and have a choice between that and a new CU, what do you think his client would go for?

 

Admin1

Forum Founder
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
10,278
Reaction score
-1
Looped feed from existing light with ceiling-mounted pull-switch in broom cupboard. ;)
Very true too Pro. ;)

PS - Welcome to the forum, eeb1933.

 

patspark

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
243
Reaction score
0
Location
London
take your lighting circuit out of the ccu put in a single rcbo resupply from existing fuse/mcb

your lighting circuit is now rcd protected or you could do the same with rcd fused spur

which ever is most cost effective

 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
13,621
Reaction score
297
take your lighting circuit out of the ccu put in a single rcbo resupply from existing fuse/mcbyour lighting circuit is now rcd protected or you could do the same with rcd fused spurwhich ever is most cost effective
Indeed... Wylex CU lights probably 5a fuse anyway....

stick RCD/FCU 5a fuse...

Mind you could leave with 13a fuse cuz CU would provide overload protection..

RCD/FCU just providing RCD protection...

this would stick about

 

Admin1

Forum Founder
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
10,278
Reaction score
-1
stick RCD/FCU 5a fuse...
I could put one on a Buy It Now or on auction - If you wish.

Same with a double RCD s/o. OP. ]:)

 

daryl631

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Looped feed from existing light with ceiling-mounted pull-switch in broom cupboard. ;)
Thats what i have done ceiling pull switch no need for rcd

 
Top