Bathroom Light Wiring

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spark7

Reaction score
Hello

Newbie here. I'm struggling to get a light and fan to work. So in the bathroom was a pull cord switch which had a 3 wire cable going to a ceiling rose. When pulled the bathroom light came on and the fan came on. I'm trying to put in (outside the bathroom) a switch for the light and a switch for the fan.

I've got a light switch with 4 switches outside the bathroom. Currently 2 switches are for upstairs and downstairs and they work fine. I thought I could put a bridge in this switch to give power to the light. I used the top of the switch, the common as the bridge from the light switch to the common? at the top of switch 3 and switch 4.

Switch 1 - downstairs lights, switch 2 upstairs lights, switch 3 bathroom fan, switch 4, bathroom light.

As you can probably guess it doesn't work.

How do I get power from this switch to make the light and fan work? Or do I need to feed power in from elsewhere?

Originally the ceiling rose had cable 1 - power in, cable 2 - fan, cable 3 - master bedroom light, cable 4 - switch

All help appreciated.

Many thanks

Come on fellas! It's Sunday so try to be nice.
If I understand correctly you have a double switch already on the landing and you are replacing it with a quad switch using the two additional ones for the bathroom. (?)
If so, then don't interfere with the two existing landing circuits at all. Just replace the bathroom circuit cables with a new length to your new switch location.
BUT there may be a complication. Does the fan just run when the light is on, or does it run on for a while after the light is switched off?
I gather that you want to control the fan and light independently. Is that so?

Come on fellas! It's Sunday so try to be nice.