Been on the naughty step today šŸ™

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Had to attend a speed awareness course, canā€™t imagine itā€™s too much of a deterrent

I know somebody whoā€™s been on 4 of these - which rather proves me point šŸ˜‰

I thought you could only do one then you had to take the points, do get the choice each time to avoid the points

I think you can re-attend a course if it is 3 years or more since previous course..?

As technically if you had paid a fine and had the points, they would have expired after 3 years anyway... So would be staring again on a blank canvas..

However I have no personal experience of such courses...

But I have had paid 3x speeding fines, with the associated points over my driving life so far..
1983 Ā£36 + 3 points
2006 Ā£60 + 3 points
2017 Ā£100 + 3 points

As a side-note for Murdoch:
were you caught relatively close to home?
As I am sure I read a statistic that said 90%+ of speeding offences occur close to home where people get a bit too over confident with familiar roads.

But are generally a bit more cautious when further away from home on less familiar roads!

(All of my offences were approx 5 miles or less from home.)

As I am sure I read a statistic that said 90%+ of speeding offences occur close to home where people get a bit too over confident with familiar roads.

But are generally a bit more cautious when further away from home on less familiar roads!

(All of my offences were approx 5 miles or less from home.)
both of mine were local, the last one was were they had dropped the speed limit to 20mph - that was annoying!

I was driving the misses car on the M3 relatively close to home šŸ˜‰

Very late at night with almost no cars on the road in the dry

Last edited: