Business name...????

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maccarooni

Reaction score
Hi All.

I was wondering if when starting on the self employed road and picking a name for the business, do you have to register the name somewhere.

Guiness DrinkGuiness DrinkGuiness Drink

Macca

If you are trading as a small business don't think so. If you are a PLC and listed at companies house then you do. You might want to see if the domain name is free on the net?

I'm no expert. Think KME's your man

Hi apache.

Yes I will be sole trader, with my name Electricial services. Don't think I'll go public limited just yet LOL

Maccca

Ah you can come up with a better name than that

how about?

AAAAAAAAAAAAArdvark Electricians? (first in the phone book)

Some bright spark

Light up your life

Poles-arn't-us

:D

yeah took me a long time to come up with this one....LOL

Guiness Drink

Guinnessdrink ( Nope it didn't )

just checking to see if it works with the correct spelling

Guiness Drink

Macca

Hi All.I was wondering if when starting on the self employed road and picking a name for the business, do you have to register the name somewhere.

Macca
as Apache says not required as a sole trader..

But yes if going LTD...

The only thing you would need to do is open a business bank account with your new zingy top of the pile new name as the account name..

so if someone writes you a cheque .. to the business name..

you can cash it!

Or you will need to make sure all cheques are payable to you personally!

If you do open a bank/acc they will normally do as

["Your Name T/A Business Name"]

which is you 'trading as' your business name.

that way any cheques payable to You or the business name can be paid into that account!

Evenin` mac....

As Spec. & Apache corrctly note - no registration necessary -BUT