DIY ers

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Evans Electric

TEF LINUX ADMIN™
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Did anyone else see the editors comment in December issue of PE ?

He makes the point that on a forum sounding much like this one , electricians are giving advice to the DIY brigade , with some writing in saying " I'm not an electrician but I've done some small jobs ...etc "

He makes the point that perhaps we should not give that advice to untrained people and they should call a professional in, (or even Specs ; \ ;) )

What do others think ?

Nobody would give advice to someone out of their depth etc.

And it is in the agreement that it is recommended that "If in doubt, call a qualified Electrician out".

And there is also the "Electrician Business Directory" too, to do that (As well as other methods.

I don't believe that the editor was talking about this forum, but there is another forum out there aimed, purely at DIY persons. ;)

Oh, And I don't fancy driving all the way down to Senate's in Swansea to pick up a copy. :(

I've not yet seen this months PE.

Before the PE editor has a whine about forums & advice given by tradesmen, I think maybe he should mention the incorrect info dished out daily by B&Q staff in the electrical depts.

At least we are upto date with the whys & where fors of our trade, unlike some of the miss informed diy shed workers I overheard giving info to customers.

Another view - anyone can but the bits so if people are asking advice surly it's better they do something with a bit of help rather than muddling on regardless?

Some people DIY because they can't afford a professional

Some people DIY because they like it

As sparks you see the DIY disasters where it's all gone wrong. There's many more jobs done safely. IMO