Help changing light switch

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

vivavilla

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to this and I'm sure it's very very simple so please excuse my ignorance! :(

I'm in the process of changing a light switch. It's a dimmer with two switches. I'm just a little stuck trying to work out where the wires go; in the old switch there were 3 holes on either fitting labelled "1", "2", and "3". Red wires went into "1" and "3", and the green/yellow wire went into a completely separate fitting underneath which wasn't labelled.

The new fitting however is much more modern, and has holes labelled "1", "2" and "C". It does not have the separate fitting underneath where the green/yellow wire was previously located.

Does this make sense to anyone? I can provide photographs it will help at all.

Thanks :)

 

Mr Sworld

Electrical Technician
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
1,152
Reaction score
0
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to this and I'm sure it's very very simple so please excuse my ignorance! :( I'm in the process of changing a light switch. It's a dimmer with two switches. I'm just a little stuck trying to work out where the wires go; in the old switch there were 3 holes on either fitting labelled "1", "2", and "3". Red wires went into "1" and "3", and the green/yellow wire went into a completely separate fitting underneath which wasn't labelled.

The new fitting however is much more modern, and has holes labelled "1", "2" and "C". It does not have the separate fitting underneath where the green/yellow wire was previously located.

Does this make sense to anyone? I can provide photographs it will help at all.

Thanks :)
The 'C' is the 'Common', this is where your live (red or brown wire) goes into, the '1' and '2' are where the switch live comes out into the light fitting. Note that the switch live uses the neutral colour (black or blue). Generally wiring into '1' turns the light on when the switch is clicked 'down' but if the switch turns on the 'other way round' just swap the wire from '1' to '2'.

If the switch is completely plastic you don't need a earth to it. Just terminate the exsisting earth in a little 'choc-bloc'.

 

vivavilla

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Here's the old switch...

dsc085251hc0.jpg


dsc085261kv0.jpg


New switch...

dsc085271do0.jpg


dsc085281uq4.jpg


And the mess I'm working with...

dsc085321ii9.jpg


Sorry about the quality!

 

vivavilla

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Sorry, Mr Sworld was in the process of posting before I saw your post.

Yes the new switch is completely plastic whereas the old one wasn't. Does that explain why there is no equivalent position for the earth wire?

 

Admin1

Forum Founder
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
10,278
Reaction score
-1
Sorry, Mr Sworld was in the process of posting before I saw your post.Yes the new switch is completely plastic whereas the old one wasn't. Does that explain why there is no equivalent position for the earth wire?
I have seen many Plastic switch plates that contain an earth terminal. If there isn't a earth terminal on there, just terminate it into your Galv back box.

And Welcome to the forum.

 

Mr Sworld

Electrical Technician
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
1,152
Reaction score
0
Sorry, Mr Sworld was in the process of posting before I saw your post.Yes the new switch is completely plastic whereas the old one wasn't. Does that explain why there is no equivalent position for the earth wire?
It is. The new switch is insulated so just leave the earth attached to the metal backbox.

It looks from the photo that you have a double red twin and earth cable and a double insulated single?

 

vivavilla

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
It is. The new switch is insulated so just leave the earth attached to the metal backbox.It looks from the photo that you have a double red twin and earth cable and a double insulated single?
Yes I think this is correct.

 

Mr Sworld

Electrical Technician
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
1,152
Reaction score
0
The wire that has the extra one twisted onto it is your common for both dimmers switches and the spare red from the T&E and the double insulated one are the switch lives for the two lights.

But you knew that didn't you! ;)

 

vivavilla

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Success! Wired as you guided above and it works perfectly. Thanks very much to all who responded for your help, I'll definitely use this forum again :)

 

Admin 2

Former Administrator
Joined
Dec 22, 2008
Messages
3,499
Reaction score
0
Success! Wired as you guided above and it works perfectly. Thanks very much to all who responded for your help, I'll definitely use this forum again :)
Thats what i like to hear.

AD2

:x

 
Top