Is this install method still in use I wonder?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Evans Electric

TEF LINUX ADMIN™
Supporting Member
Reaction score
As an Apprentice I spent a year working on a new build private hospital .

The modus operandi  was as soon as the first floor was in place , which was beam & block construction ...we started to lay conduits on the deck for the ground floor lighting below .

Building was the width of a football pitch and twice as long  and every light box had to be in the right place .   Also a short bend through the slab for switch drops to run down walls not yet built .  

Reason was , the ceiling was plastered direct  and the deck had a 2"   floor screed     no false ceilings .   

So we had our drawing wallpaper pasted  to a piece of hardboard and we scaled off it to find the exact location of each light point , switch drop & to the non existing , three tier trunking to eventually run down the corridors .

Imagine , freezing winter , sweep the snow off the deck before measuring & laying conduit which was so cold it stuck to the skin . 

Not sure if I've explained this to well .   Only ever did it once more on a new school , built the same way.  

I think nowadays there are that many services run in a building and the way in which technology moves on that they are designed with future upgrades in mind. These days it isn't uncommon to be refitting equipment after 10 years whereas back in the day it would be "fitted for life" in that it wouldn't be expected to be changed/removed for the life of the building.

Yes , you're both right ..... the place has been refurbed at least twice to my knowledge .

That was one of the jobs from a thread last week  about wiring in phase colours .     Certainly had to learn to read  drawings damn quick .