Maximum Demand exceeded

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
No two EICR's are the same, this time a contactum CU has 11 ways/circuits, it is a split load board with 2 x 80 RCD's. 100A main switch.
MCB's are as follows - 32, 32, 32, 20, 20, 6, 32, 20, 20, 6, 6 amps.
I make the Max demand using diversity, 109.6 amps.
I have made a note on the certificate, unsatisfactory of course, and I am now looking for a way forward as the duty holder who ordered the eicr needs a pass asap.
I wont be rushed into signing off a job and am looking for a solution along the lines of using smaller mcbs if possible.
I am not a circuit designer and would appreciate some guidance.

Cheers n stuff

Leigh

The number of MCB's does not define the maximum demand.
It is the loads connected.

e.g. a house with a single 5A BS3036 lighting circuit.
could be improved by splitting the existing circuit on to 2x 6A 60898's (up/down)
Supplying the exact same lighting load

The Max demand of the lighting has not suddenly doubled because it has been split onto two circuits.

Or a 32A rings suppling a few bedrooms could be split into a pair of 20A radials..
Still supplying the exact same sockets & loads.. (but not suddenly gained an extra 8A of demand.)

Capacity and demand are different things..
Start assessing the actual fixed and portable loads these circuits may or may not be supplying..
and which ones could be in simultaneous use.

Have a read of the second paragraph of Appendix A On Site Guide.. Pg135.
I would suggest your method of evaluating Max Demand is incorrect in this instance.

The maximum demand calculations are way out of date with reality and need to be ignored.