Recent Move & New User

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lardness

Reaction score
I've recently moved into a property that has PV panels. I've no experience of solar systems whatsoever & the PV panels weren't a reason to buy, but a bit of a bonus. I'm still trying to get hold of the certification & paperwork for the system- the owner who installed the panels died & his son took over the house. I think the PV system is maybe 10 years old.
Whilst I'm not yet in a position to feed into the grid (I'm an Octopus customer), I'd have thought that the system should be supplying pretty much all of the power requirements- but this doesn't appear to be the case. Just had my first electrical bill through- and it doesn't seem to be much less than w/o the PV system. For today, the system display says it's developed 8.4 kWh today- which seems plenty!
I'd appreciate some input from the community as to what may be happening-

first off, if it's ten years old, it should have been eligible for the FiT payments - do hassle the seller to transfer this to you as it's worth just shy of 70p per kWh.

secondly it's hard to comment about energy produced without further details on the system, such as size of the array, roof pitch, any shading issues, and orientation to due south.

first off, if it's ten years old, it should have been eligible for the FiT payments - do hassle the seller to transfer this to you as it's worth just shy of 70p per kWh.

secondly it's hard to comment about energy produced without further details on the system, such as size of the array, roof pitch, any shading issues, and orientation to due south.