Super Dumb Question

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vladimir3000

Reaction score
Hi,

Apologies for this but im a novice trainee electrician!

Let me start by saying i have read the Electrical Saftey Council best practice guide on Safe isolation but i still have a question!

Do you always turn off the main switch on the CU before opening it?

AND once opened,

can you / do you work on a particular circuit with its individual MCB switched off whilst the other circuits remain on? - if so, is there not a shock risk from various parts e.g, the busbar?

Thanks! (Rather sheepishly)

Blushing

turn it all off mate, u get your hands in there u might touch a bit of bare copper, its not worth the risk.

the incommming tails will still be live unless there is a isolator befor the board.

just to add, can anyone say if its posible to get a belt of the nutral bar if the board is live and appliances being used?

Hi,Apologies for this but im a novice trainee electrician!

Let me start by saying i have read the Electrical Saftey Council best practice guide on Safe isolation but i still have a question!

AND once opened,

can you / do you work on a particular circuit with its individual MCB switched off whilst the other circuits remain on? - if so, is there not a shock risk from various parts e.g, the busbar?

Thanks! (Rather sheepishly)

Blushing
Sorry...

NOT super dumb enough IMHO....

quite logical thought process actually!:)Applaud Smiley

In an Ideal world..

(or during an assessment)

most probably yes...

in the real world.. it can often be very inconvenient to shut off a whole installation!

Whilst working on an individual circuit..

yes switched off and LOCKED OFF preferable!!!

and yes.. if the bus-bar cover drops off there is a risk of shock..

but then you can always pop the front cover back on ASAP.